Region of Molise

flag of Molise - italy

Molise is known for its beauty and age old life style. The Region of Molise was created in 1963. Between 1864 and 1963 the area of Molise was part of the now-defunct Region of Abruzzi e Molise. In 1806 a province named Molise was created, with 2 districts: Campobasso and Isernia; which are today the names of the two provinces of the Region of Molise. Prior to 1861, a vast province named *Terra di Lavoro existed in the area of the present-day provinces of Frosinone in the region of Lazio, and Caserta in the region of Campania. At some point (c. 1814 - 1862) parts of present-day Molise were also included in Terra di Lavoro. Keep these facts in mind when searching for a particular village or when looking at old documents. Characteristic of the region is that two ethnic minorities, among its 300.000 inhabitants, live in Molise; Molisian Croatians and Molisian Albanians.

Capital Campobasso
Provinces Campobasso
Municipalities 136
Area 4438 km2
Population (2004 est.) 321047
  Climate of Molise
Average monthly maximum temperature Average daily hours of sunshine Average monthly rainfall
10 to 18 6 hrs 47 mm
20 to 28 10 hrs 27 mm
14 to 21 6 hrs 68 mm
6 to 13 4 hrs 61 mm
Regions of Italy